Tuesday, February 11, 2020


The Ogun State House of Assembly has passed a resolution calling on the State Security Trust Fund Committee, to as a matter of urgency, ensure the immediate distribution of security apparatus including patrol vans and motorcycles to volatile areas including border towns and communities hosting higher institutions of learning across the State.

The passage of the Assembly’s resolution through a motion moved by the Majority Leader and member representing Ado-Odo/Ota I State Constituency, Yusuf Sheriff, seconded by the Minority Leader, Ganiyu Oyedeji and unanimously approved by other lawmakers at a plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo, was consequent upon the rising report of crimes and criminalities which called for urgent measures, with a view to maintaining peace and tranquility in the State.

Earlier before the passage of the resolution, the Deputy Speaker and member representing Ijebu North II State Constituency, Dare Kadiri reported the incessant clash by rival cult groups which has been causing civil unrest in his constituency, while his Remo North State counterpart, Solomon Osho intimated the assembly that one his constituents, Motunrayo Baliquis, who was abducted recently by unknown gunmen on her way to Abuja had regained her freedom.

Responding, Speaker Oluomo, who decried the cases on insecurity in the nation, expressed confidence that the proposed South West Security Network code-named “Operation Amotekun” was capable of reducing cases of in the South West region to the barest minimum.

Oluomo also charged residents of the State to provide credible information to security agencies for smooth discharge of their duties of ensuring security of live and properties.

Calling for drastic measures to reinvigorate the security architecture of the nation, the Speaker challenged security agencies to devise more measures capable of raising their bar of performance with respect to achieving effective security coverage in all part of the State and nation at large.

In another development, the Assembly has granted approval to the nominees of Governor Dapo Abiodun for the position of Chairman and members of the Ipokia Local Government Transition Committee, having screened and found them eligible to assume the offices.
The Assembly's approval was consequent upon the presentation of the report of the Committee on Selection by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff, who also moved the motion for its adoption, seconded by Ganiyu Oyedeji and supported by the Whole House through a voice vote.
Following the adoption of the report, Yusuf thereafter moved the motion for the confirmation of the nominees, seconded by Hon. Sikirat Ajibola and unanimously supported by all the lawmakers through a voice vote.

The confirmed nominees, whose names were earlier, transmitted to the legislative arm for approval on 3rd of February via a correspondence from Governor Abiodun included included Abolurin Kabir, Apo Ezekiel, Adeosun Mulikat, Amadi Rasheedat and Sokenu Bola.

Earlier during the screening presided over by Speaker Oluomo, the nominees were enjoined to emulate the style of the Assembly which has been maintaining unity of purpose in its conduct regardless of members belonging to different political parties which is helping to put in place purpose-driven governance in the State.

The Assembly also observed a minute-silence in honour of the late Majority Leader and a member who represented Sagamu I State Constituency at the 7th and 8th legislative session, describing him as a vibrant and active legislator during his days in the hallowed chambers.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Bottom Ad

Responsive Ads Here